Questioning Conventional Wisdom on Obesity, Health & Diet

Many of you who know me know I don’t always agree with current food trends or “conventional” diet advice. My heart breaks with a client as they tell the story of being shamed into another futile diet either by their own misguided demands, or that of a health care professional. It doesn’t take long for people to figure out that the tissues in my office aren’t really for those with a cold. Our diet culture can be detrimental to physical health and often wreaks havoc on emotional well-being. I don’t believe in diets. I don’t believe in using a scale as the sole measure of health or progress. I believe in eating real food, and investing in your health as a way of life. Intelligent fueling coupled with intuitive eating is my philosophy.

Hopefully, clients, consumers and health professionals across the nation will watch this video. I’ve followed Dr. Attia’s blog for a while now. He is candid, honest and open-minded: which isn’t always an attribute of our health community. I truly appreciate his story and the hypothesis he shares in his recent TED talk. Please, take some time to watch it.

One thought on “Questioning Conventional Wisdom on Obesity, Health & Diet

Leave a comment